Suhr Koko Boost
Suhr Koko Boost

Just bought myself a Koko Boost – by Suhr. Expensive, but wonderful.

In a band setting, there are so many times when I need to cut through the mix during a riff or solo. Sometimes I just want my guitar signal boosted; sometimes I  want it boosted with a bit more grunt. I was getting tired of fiddling around with my guitar volume control in the middle of songs, so it was time to do some research and find myself a quality boost pedal. The decision to purchase the Koko Boost wasn’t difficult: its flexible, high quality, and has unique features. It’s not cheap; it retails for about £200. But if you want the best you gotta pay for it.

I set out to find a boost pedal that wouldn’t colour my tone, unless I wanted it to. This is what the Koko Boost is all about. It offers a wonderfully clean transparent boost when the Boost Switch is engaged, but lets you add a an array of midrange colouration via a Midrange Boost Switch. When the midrange boost is selected, the type of tone colouration that is added to the clean boost can be adjusted by a frequency toggle. The frequency toggle has three positions:

  • left – highlights the middle range – giving a full and smooth sound to accentuate your guitar’s midrange characteristics
  • centre – highlights the high mids – giving a clear and articulate voice to cut through the mix
  • right – highlights the low mids – giving a fat and creamy thickened tone.

The Koko Boost is True Bypass, so it allows all the signal from the guitar to bypass the pedal’s circuitry when the pedal is off. This ensures that the integrity of your guitar signal is retained when the pedal is not active. All my pedals are True Bypass. But this can create a problem if there is more than 20ft of cable between the guitar and amp. In such cases you’ll want a buffer or buffered pedal at the end or start of your pedal board to avoid signal degradation. Koko Boost to the rescue. The pedal includes a switchable buffer (under the cover) enabling it to act as a high quality buffer if required. Keep your signal chain short, and you won’t need it. If you play on big stages, you’ll be thankful for the KoKo Boost’s buffer capability.

Other features include a battery monitor and FX Link. The FX Link can be used to remotely control the pedal. The KoKo Boost can operate via a third party power supply unit at between 9 and 18 volts and draws current of 8mA.

Here are a few video demos found around the web:

More at www.suhr.com

Review of my Suhr Riot pedal

